historic cannon in the garden of the Churchill Island Heritage Farm...
The cannon is believed to have been given to Samuel Amess
by his friend and neighbour from nearby Cape Woolamai - Captain John Cleeland.
Perhaps it was his [Cleeland's] sea going experience which led him to extend hospitality to Lt. James Waddell of the Confederate raider the Shenandoah when she visited Melbourne in 1865. The vessel had sailed 44,000 miles in an epic raiding voyage during which she touched port only twice. Obviously impressed by the warm welcome afforded by Cleeland, Lt Waddell responded by leaving a cannon and some cannon balls. Today the cannon can be seen in front of the Churchill Island homestead.
- more on the Cleeland family HERE...